I have been thinking the past few days about value.

Here, in the United States, it seems (well, to me, anyway, god knows I don’t have any facts to back anything that I say up! :)) that our perceived value is based on a few factors. The amount of money that you earn, primarily, followed by how you look, followed by what you can get for me.

And if you don’t make such and such amount or aren’t as friendly to look at or you can’t get something for me, well, sorry, you don’t matter.

So, you can have a hobby – something that you thoroughly enjoy – but if you can’t make money with it, well, why do it?

Originally written 2/5/13, published in March 2016.
Leave a Reply

